Course Recommender

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Get a firm grasp of the English language, which is the cornerstone of a successful higher education with Nilai University Intensive English Programme. The American Degree Transfer Program is also hugely popular as it allows for a variety of specialisation courses at tremendous savings. In short, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences is unique because of its cohesiveness and willingness to function as a creative and responsible unit in performing core as well as special tasks assigned which helps in turning Nilai University’s vision of being an international centre of education excellence a reality.

 

Greetings  from  the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences!

 
The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) is one of change and progress as we regularly rethink of the courses offered and adapt them to the needs and ambitions of Nilai University graduates. As we play a very crucial role of injecting the humanistic elements in education at Nilai University, FHSS offers an array of exciting courses as electives when you study in your chosen programme. As an undergraduate, you are expected to apply this knowledge to the best of your abilities in order to understand your surroundings, to communicate your thoughts and ideas, and to connect to the real world.
 
As FHSS is involved in one way or another with all the undergraduate programmes at Nilai University, you are bound to have contact with us at some point in your study life. I certainly hope that you will find the classes exciting, challenging and ultimately rewarding, as have many previous students.
 
Finally, I wish you a fruitful learning experience in Nilai University and may you all come away ready to tackle the future, armed with fresh knowledge and confidence that will serve you well throughout your study and career.
 
 
R. Subashini
Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Academic Team

R. Subashini
Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

R. Subashini has 17 years of teaching experience in the field of ESL and education.  She has a Master in English as a Second Language from University of Malaya, and is currently pursuing her PhD in Education.  Presently, she is the Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, in Nilai University and is responsible in providing effective leadership. She is also responsible in assisting the academic staff in their teaching performance, and guiding staff towards improvement in productivity and quality of their work.  R.Subashini has actively participated in Language and Educational conferences in the past year. She has presented the following papers: Assessment for Learning, Using Critical Website Evaluation as an Assessment for Learning, and the Promotion of Global Awareness within English Language Teaching. Some of the conferences and seminars she participated and presented in   are the MELTA Conference, the Seminar on Language for Specific Purposes (LSP) organised by UTM, and the International Conference on Tertiary Language Education (ICTLE) organised by Taylor’s University. In addition, her research paper entitled ‘A Study on the Anxiety Level of Second Language Learners in the IEP classroom: Nilai UC IEP International Students’ was published in the Journal of ICTLE 2013 ISBN: 978-967-5770-40-1 June 2013.

More
Peter Anthony
Head, Department of Languages
Peter Anthony holds a Masters in Business Administration from University of Phoenix and has been teaching English for the last 15 years. He is currently, the Head of the Department of Languages, Nilai University. As a senior staff member in Nilai U,  he has conducted English language and Communication courses for the BBN junior staff, the  Management staff for Felda and also for its Security Force. Peter’s background is varied as he has management experience in the manufacturing and marketing fields too where he was involved in  staff trainings. These trainings mainly focused on people skills where communication and interaction were emphasized.
 
More
Sharifah Halimah Syed Jafar
Head, Department of Social Sciences & American Degree Transfer Programme
Sharifah Halimah Syed Jafar has more than 15 years of teaching experience in the field of language and education. She holds a Master of Science in TESL and a Bachelor of Education in TESL  from Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM). Currently, she is a Principal Lecturer as well as the Head of Department of Social Sciences and American Degree Transfer Programme at Nilai University.  Sharifah has conducted training for academic staff in the institution. Additionally, she is responsible in assisting academic staff in their teaching performance, and guiding them towards improvement in productivity and the quality of their work. Her areas of interests are active learning strategies and teaching and learning in higher education.
 
More
Yang Chia Yan
Senior Lecturer
evyanyang@nilai.edu.my
Ab. Rahman Mohd Yusof
Senior Lecturer
rahman@nilai.edu.my
Ahmad Faizuddin Ramli
Lecturer
faizuddin@nilai.edu.my
Ainawati Husin
Lecturer
ainawati@nilai.edu.my
Azean Idruwani
Senior Lecturer
azean@nilai.edu.my
Damaya Devi
Senior Lecturer
damaya@nilai.edu.my
David Madhavan
Senior Lecturer
davidmadhavan@nilai.edu.my
Kalpana Nair
Senior Lecturer
kalpana@nilai.edu.my
Khavitha A/P Kunasekaran
Lecturer
khavitha@nilai.edu.my
Manickam A/L Arjunan
Senior Lecturer
manickam@nilai.edu.my
Mariammal Usha Devi
Principal Lecturer
usha@nilai.edu.my
Mariani Sohod
Senior Lecturer
mariani@nilai.edu.my
Nithya Gopalan
Lecturer
nithya@nilai.edu.my
Nur Afiqah Mohd Hanif
Lecturer
afiqah@nilai.edu.my
Rashidah Mohd Rashid
Lecturer
rashidahr@nilai.edu.my
Rekha Prakash
Senior Lecturer
rekha@nilai.edu.my
Shima Shazmimi Zakaria
Lecturer
shima@nilai.edu.my
Vijaya Raghavan
Programme Coordinator
veejay@nilai.edu.my
Weng Ah Shom
Lecturer
asweng@nilai.edu.my
Zadza Zarazilah
Senior Lecturer
zadza@nilai.edu.my